The first official World Series was contested in 1903 between the Boston Americans (Currently the Boston Red Sox) and the Pittsburgh Pirates (Currently the Pittsburgh Pirates).

Boston upset Pittsburgh five games to three. Yes, you read that it had been an eight-game series.
The American League has won 65 of the 114 World Series championships. The Yankees lead the charge with 27 names in just 40 appearances — something Yankees fans won’t allow you to forget… EVER.
The showing in the American League is. Some of those looks came none came when the team was established in Kansas City and when they were the Philadelphia Athletics. The Red Sox have won eight of their 12 looks and like the Yankees, their fans won’t allow you to forget it.
From the National League, St. Louis is in the lead with 11 wins in its own 19 appearances, followed by the San Francisco Giants — formerly the New York Giants of the”Shot heard’round the world!” Fame — winning eight of their 20 appearances. The LA Dodgers have won half of the 18 appearances with some of those wins happening when the team was established in Brooklyn.
There continue to be two teams that have to play in a World Series — the Washington Nationals and the Seattle Mariners. A number people are OK with that because the Montreal Expos never made it into the World Series and it’s DC’s turn to suffer.
A group has not won consecutive World Series since the Yankees took the championship in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Bear in mind the four that are core? Only one of these was listed in the Mitchell Report. Can you guess which one? Here is a hint: It is not Mariano Rivera since he was too busy becoming a fantastic person.

Read more here: