The first official World Series was contested in 1903 between the Boston Americans (now the Boston Red Sox) and the Pittsburgh Pirates (Currently the Pittsburgh Pirates).

Boston upset Pittsburgh five games to three. Yes, you read that it was an eight-game series.
The American League has won 65 of those 114 World Series championships. The Yankees lead the charge with 27 titles in just 40 looks — something Yankees fans won’t let you forget… EVER.
The showing from the American League is the Oakland Athletics, who have won nine of the 14 appearances. A few of those looks came when they were the Philadelphia Athletics when the group was established in Kansas City, and not one came. The Red Sox have won eight of their 12 appearances and such as the Yankees, their fans won’t let you forget it.
In the National League, St. Louis is in the lead with 11 wins in its own 19 appearances, followed by the San Francisco Giants — formerly the New York Giants of the”Shot heard’round the world!” Fame — winning eight of their 20 appearances. The LA Dodgers have won half of the 18 appearances with some of those wins happening when the team was based in Brooklyn.
There are still two teams that have to play at a World Series — the Seattle Mariners and the Washington Nationals. A number people are OK with that because the Montreal Expos never made it to the World Series and now it’s DC’s turn to endure.
A group hasn’t won consecutive World Series since the Yankees took the championship in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Bear in mind the core ? Only one of these was recorded from the Mitchell Report. Would you guess which one? Here is a hint: It’s not Mariano Rivera since he was too busy becoming a good person.

Read more here: