The first official World Series was contested in 1903 between the Boston Americans (now the Boston Red Sox) and the Pittsburgh Pirates (now the Pittsburgh Pirates).

Boston mad Pittsburgh five games to three. Yes, you read that it was an eight-game series.
The American League has won 65 of the 114 World Series championships. The Yankees lead the charge with 27 names in only 40 looks — something Yankees fans will not let you forget… EVER.
The showing in the American League is that the Oakland Athletics, who have won nine of the 14 appearances. Some of those looks came not one came when the team was established in Kansas City and when they had been the Philadelphia Athletics. The Red Sox have won eight of their 12 looks and like the Yankees, their fans will not allow you to forget it.
From the National League, St. Louis is in the lead with 11 wins in its 19 appearances, followed by the San Francisco Giants — formerly the New York Giants of the”Shot heard’round the world!” Fame — winning eight of the 20 appearances. The LA Dodgers have won half of the 18 appearances with a few of those wins occurring when the team was based in Brooklyn.
There are two groups which have yet to play at a World Series — the Seattle Mariners and the Washington Nationals. A number of us are OK with this since the Montreal Expos never left it into the World Series and it’s DC’s turn to suffer.
A group has not won consecutive World Series because the Yankees took the championship in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Bear in mind the four that are core? One of these was recorded from the Mitchell Report. Can you guess which one? Here is a hint: It’s not Mariano Rivera because he had been too busy becoming a good person.

Read more: